kind•ness

IMG_8515

“If we all do one random act of kindness daily, we might just set the world in the right direction.” -Martin Kornfeld

Ever since I lost all of my hair, I have received much more kindness from strangers than in the past. I could probably count on two hands the number of times I have opened a door for myself in public in the past three months. If I drop something, someone picks it up for me before I have time to bend down to get it. If I cross paths with someone, they are the first to move out of the way before I can react. I’ve had at least three different random people pay for my Starbucks, and I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve been complimented out of the blue by someone I don’t know. No one, I mean no one, has been rude to me. Every single positive interaction with a stranger has uplifted my spirits in many ways.

The unfortunate part about these acts of kindness is the fact that I’m surprised. I wish I wasn’t surprised when strangers are nice. I wish I wasn’t surprised when strangers do favors for me. And most of all I wish I wasn’t surprised when strangers give me compliments.

Just think about it.. when’s the last time you complimented a stranger.. or bought someone Starbucks because you just felt like it? The next time you find yourself standing in a silent elevator, instead of burying your head into your phone..consider breaking the silence and interacting with the people around you. By doing random acts of kindness, I think you will be pleasantly surprised by how much happier you feel by the end of the day. Odds are you will have some fun and interesting stories to tell in the long run.

Clearly these things happen all the time, but I think it would be a wonderful thing if it wasn’t so rare. I’d love to live in a world where I don’t have to lose my hair in order for strangers to consistently do and say kind things because they pity me. I’d like to think I am partially responsible for the happiness of strangers. It is amazing how a simple act of kindness can impact a person’s life in a tremendous way.

Obviously I don’t think the earth is only filled with nasty people. If anything, this journey has highlighted the existence of many genuinely kind and beautiful people. But a world with more pleasant interactions with strangers would simply be a healthier and happier world.

As Ellen would say…. “Be kind to one another, BYE.”

 

Leave a Reply

