Accept and move forward.

I am a human chia pet. If you look closely, there are tiny little strands of hair all over my head that grow and disappear after each treatment. My eyebrows just came in the mail the other day in tattoo form. If I sweat too much, you’ll slowly see my eyelashes (eyeliner) wash away with ease. And lastly, if I forget to carry a tissue around with me, the lack of hair in my nose will cause snot to drip like a leaking faucet…yummy.

Loosing all of my hair was something that I had to accept very early on. You all have probably realized that I don’t mind walking around with my shiny bald head exposed everyday. Believe me when I say, that I don’t find pleasure in walking around without any hair (especially now that the sun makes me look like a light bulb). I’ve chosen not to hide it, because I have accepted that there is nothing I can do to change this at the moment.

I think we can all agree that life just isn’t fair sometimes. Our lives are filled with countless hardships..and many of us are culprits of dwelling on these events for quite some time. Although there are some things we simply can’t change, it is our job to make the best of the things we still can. Obviously this is way easier said that done. But at the end of the day, if you currently have or have experienced something negative that you still have control over..why waste another minute letting it bring you down. Accept that it has happened, move forward, and impress yourself with how you respond to adversity.

Now..this concept may seem very similar to one of my previous posts ‘Let it go.’ However, lets look at it in the grand scheme of things. Most of the negativity in our lives is comprised of both annoyances and hardships. It is a lot easier to let an annoyance go than to accept a hardship and move forward. If your vacuum explodes on the carpet you just Mrs-Doubtfire-Dancing-and-Vacuumingcleaned.. laugh, turn on some music, and dance like Mrs. Doubtfire would. On the other hand, if you or a loved one have gone through/are experiencing a life changing hardship..try to stay away from asking why it had to happen. Instead ask yourself what you are going to do to make it a positive experience full of loving memories.

The most important lesson I’ve learned from this crazy journey of mine, is that I wouldn’t have been placed in this terrible situation if I wasn’t strong enough to handle it.

Bottom line is.. 1) Cherish your nose hairs, 2) Categorize your hardships, and 3) Be confident that you are strong enough to handle the adversity you’ve been dealt.

 

One comment

  1. Debbie Miller · June 6, 2016

    Thank you for your wisdom Eileen. You really reminded me to keep things in perspective. Thanks for sharing your inner strength. I will accept and move forward! Love you girl

    Like

Leave a Reply

